Museum of the Sino-Japanese War 1894-1895
Name: Museum of the Sino-Japanese War 1894-1895 中国甲午战争博物馆
Address: Dinggong Road, Huancui district, Weihai, Shandong province
Hours: 8:30-16:30 (off season, entry until 16:00);7:30–18:00 (high season, entry until 17:30)
Email address: email@example.com
Admission fee: Free
Image from the official website of Museum of the Sino-Japanese War 1894-1895 (http://www.jiawuzhanzheng.org/)
The Museum of the Sino-Japanese War 1894-1895 is a national museum founded in 1985 to memorize the First Sino-Japanese War (1894-1895). It is located on Liugong Island, the former office site of Beiyang Navy of the late Qing Dynasty (1964-1911).
Liugong Island was designated as a key protection site of cultural relics by the State Council in 1988. The museum is a special agency that protects and manages the 28 historic sites on the island.
The museum has more than 1,000 historic photos, 200 cultural relics about the navy and the war, and more than 300 boat relics recovered from the water where the war took place. Among the valuable collections, there are two rare giant naval guns each weighing more than 20 tons.
With its various and unique historic relics and exhibitions, the museum is popular among visitors from home and abroad.